Waiting for CAA UAS Approval?

My Ops Manual has just been sent to the CAA. According to the CAA website, and my contact at EuroUSC, it takes approximately 28 days for it to be passed off and ‘permisson to fly’ to be granted. I’ve sketched the 26th May, into my mind, including weekends, so it might be longer.

So what do you do while your waiting. Or more appropriately, what can you do?

I have been toying with the idea of approaching a few local businesses, telling them about what i do, and what i can offer them. I decided on monday this week, that i would do just that.

Today i visited my first client, a prestigious Golf Course in my local Town. At 1pm this afternoon they gave me the keys to a Golf Buggy and gave to free run of the Grounds.

This is the only image of the Course, the Club’s website currently has…..

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 23.24.24

I have offered my Aerial Photography services free of charge. Why? Well, until i have received ‘Permission for Aerial Work – PFAW. Secondly, there are lots of Golf Courses in my area. Golf Courses have money and their members are generally wealthy. Its not about getting my grubby mitts on their cash, its about Networking, building a client base.

Filming a Golf Course will help improve my portfolio, i’ve tended to fly over fields and rivers of late. I spent over 4 hours on location today, this allowed me to conduct a thorough ‘pre’ on-site assessment. Using GoogleMaps on my Ipad i was able to spot local hazards. My Regional VFR Map to identified the Course is within Regional Class D Air Space, so i will need to contact my local ATC.

I cannot wait to get started in ernest. I plan on visiting the site again later this week, and the Course Manager has asked that i look to film in a few weeks, allowing the foliage to fully bloom, and the course to look its best. This gives me time to plan my shots and angles. Because i was given a Buggy, i was able to drive around the entire location, so i already have an idea of the shots i want to get.

IMG_4910 IMG_4931 IMG_4934 IMG_4947

An additional Camera Operator is going to be essential to get the best shots. Luckily the Course Pro is a UAS fan, he had already pitched the idea to the Board! He knows the shots he wants, so i will be taking some of my ‘direction’ from him.

I will post more when more happens!

9 thoughts on “Waiting for CAA UAS Approval?

  1. Thanks for the update,I am stuck on one or two things,How do we charge for our work,I have seen £400 for half day to £1800 for a full day with a 2 man crew,

    Like

    1. Hey Paul. Its something i was speaking about with another Pilot yesterday. He was suggesting £800 for a full day.
      I plan on having a more flexible financial model.
      For me, it depends on the type of work. Mapping a farmers fields might take 2 or 3 days, but he isnt going to have the money to pay £1800 a day. He would be hard pressed to part with £500 all in.
      Ive seen Aerial Wedding Packages from £250 and Private Home Photography for £75 per house.
      If your working for a large company, making them a promotional video, you know that you can charge them a few thousand.
      Every business will charge differently, but thats how i’m planning on charging.

      Like

  2. If you shoot a golf course, please check this cool clip Youtube / DJI s800 evo A2 @ 2.28 min This is a very good trick to demo a course from the view of the ball

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish I could take credit for this video, It was shot by AerialMediaPros.com .Its what I aspire to

        Like

Leave a comment