Selling Yourself – UAS Sales Tips

I haven’t posted anything in weeks. I haven’t stopped. Since my PFAW came through. I really miss writing my little blog.

So, this is a post i plan on adding to over the next few weeks, i just wanted to share a few pictures a friend and fellow UAS Pilot, Des Sterland of SkyHawx, took of my and my client at a local Golf Course.

DSC03023

I went in the see the Club back in May and offered to do a short promo video for free, as i hadn’t got my PFAW, and i wanted the experience…. my first tip, if you can get in the club pro, Golf Clubs are great places to meet the kind of people you need to meet in our industry. Its doubtful you can survive 365 days of the year, in the UK, from weddings, golf clubs and estate agents (which was originally my business plan, and many others new to the industry).

Most of these business will doubtfully, need your services, come the cold, rainy winter months…remember how much flight time you got between December and March?

I have learnt from working with SKEYEBV (more on that and them in a later post!), that if you really want to succeed in this industry and thrive, you need to make good contacts, and look more towards other industries. I don’t want to get in this now, thats a whole 3 hour writing sessions.

Anyways, back to my original comment, golf courses are great for contacts. I have already met and filmed couple of PGA Pros and on friday will be filming, Joe Miller, 2010 Long Drive Champion. There is mumbling with one or two well known golf brands as well. Mumblings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZhAc0b3NRs

My point is this. Offering your services for free, isn’t a bad way to make good contacts. The people in this world, who run companies and earn lots of money, like Golf, its a fact, you know it is 🙂

Anyways i wanted to show you these great images, taken by Des, with a Sony Nex 5n. These are going on my own personal webpage and showreel – thanks Des.

And a huge thanks to Arron Hodkin, the soon to be Pro at Wheatley Golf Club, who have given me the keys to a Golf Buggy and given me free region of his beautiful course. I must have been back five times, just to enjoy the view and food on their patio.

Now i need to learn how to play golf…and dress appropriately!

Thumbs Up Wheatley!

http://www.wheatleygolfclub.co.uk/

http://www.skeyebv.com/

DSC03028

You can tell which one is me, the one not dress like a golfer! The Golf Pro, Aaron, is the one dress like a Golf Pro!

DSC03031IMG_5041

One thought on “Selling Yourself – UAS Sales Tips

  1. Agree totally Nathan good points , yes winter period might be a problem in this Industry! I was looking at doing a couple of holes for free at my locally golf course to see if they liked it ,I think its a no brainer when you havent built a portfolio up yet .Got my flight test on friday with Tony so cant wait to get out there on my first job . chat soon buddy

    Like

Leave a comment