30MPH Wind vs DJI Inspire 1

I have seen a few threads on how well the DJI Inspire 1 handles wind.

You need to know you’re platforms Max Wind Speed Resistance for your Ops Manual; for the Inspire 1 the User Manual states 10 m/s.

10 m/s equates to approximately 22mph…. so you can imagine my slight hesitation when a friend suggested we took his Phantom and my Inspire out, to test her handling in the wind.

Not going to lie. It wasn’t his best idea. I don’t even have footage of his Phantom 2 because it was blown into a tree within 20 seconds of him taking off. A strong gust just carried it off, nothing he could do… broke 2 props but wounded his pride more than his craft (secretly i was actually happy, just confirmed for me that the Phantom 3 is not a competitor to the Inspire, 4k camera or not – they just aren’t stable enough).

So, i was even more hesitant when it was my turn, and my Anemometer said 26MPH… but as Paul Carr, the BNUC-s Examiner told me, “always test yourself, every time you fly, try something a bit more difficult than the last time”.

So i took her up, not high, because i wanted to make sure any potential harm was mitigated……

The footage from the Inspire was smooth and flat as per, but not worthy of posting, just a short video of me getting blown to shit by the wind!

Sufficed to say the DJI Inspire 1 can handle winds in excess of 30 MPH, here is the proof. Would i want to shoot a wedding or survey a roof, no. But i would be happy surveying a large building site or farmers field, no worries.

Hope this is of some use!

TU!

Leave a comment