Buying an Inspire 1 – My Mistakes

So, on Friday last week, i finally got my hands on the new DJI Inspire 1.

I had placed my order through SimplyElectronics.net on 2nd February. I was told it would be in my hands within 14 working days. 6 weeks later they were still fobbing me off. I decided to cancel my order and request a refund.

That was 2 weeks ago and i’m still waiting on my refund – lesson for the day, don’t buy from companies who offer such a huge discount; if it appears too good to be true. Thats because it probably is!

But at £2150 for a Dual Remote Inspire option, you can see why i initially gave those cowboys my money. (They have also now put the price up to £2474, so your only saving £300 now)

After waiting over 7 weeks, i couldn’t wait any longer. I’m very impatient. I needed to get my hands on an Inspire 1 that they day! I contacted Heliguy, in Newcastle first, as they were closer to my house than anyone else. They were expecting 8 units that day, but had not taken delivery by the time i called.

As i said, i’m not the most patient person ever……

Next on the list was Quadcopters.co.uk. I spoke to Jeff, (whom later turned out to be the owner) who said they had 30 units in stock. I took the 2 hour drive over the Pennines, surrounded by hills, valley and lakes, just wishing i already had my Inspire.

I arrived in Euxton, found the Farm they are based at, and headed to the office. They have a great set up there, an pleasant glass fronted office overlooking farm lands. Boxes of DJI products ready to be shipped stacked to one side, and a great selection of different UAVs and RC Craft on display.

We chatted about the UAS Industry in general, DJI customer service and Inspire, 1. Jeff showed me a demo model, and some footage he had recently shot, using two Inspire 1, which really showcased the Inspire 1 camera footage.

The Inspire 1 cost me £2747, which is the standard UK price set by DJI. I also bought an extra battery at £166. Granted it cost me more than £500 more than buying from the cowboys at SimplyElectronics, but i have piece of mind, that if i have an issue, i have experts in this country, who are more than happy to help.

Thank You to Jeff @ Quadcopters.co.uk for taking 30 minutes out of your day to chat with me. It was really appreciated.

http://www.quadcopters.co.uk/dji-inspire-1–extra-controller-1618-p.asp

Nathan

TU!

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 17.25.34

Leave a comment