What Qualification should you choose – BNUC-S or RPQS?

I decided after much deliberation that i was going to choose the BNUC-S qualification and training to gain my UAS Pilots Licence. It came down to two major factors. Cost and Scope.

In the UK you need to hold a CAA approved UAS Pilots licence to operate drones less than 150KG. There are a few other determining factors, such as MTOM etc, but in general for Aerial Photography, 3D Mapping, Surveying etc, As i said i was a total beginner when i decided this is what i wanted to do, and i still am!

The BNUC-S – Basic National Unmanned Aircraft Systems Certificate, is run by EuroUSC. The guys are the market leaders in the commercial UAS training world. They initially worked with the Civil Aviation Authority to write the qualification, and until recently, it was the only one they acknowledged.

http://eurousc.com/about-us/

The RPQ – Remote Pilot Qualification, run by The Resource Group. I did have a long chat with these guys before i made my decision to go with EuroUSC. Apart from the cost element which i will discuss in a later, the main factor was the training.

http://uas.resourcegroup.co.uk/

The EuroUSC course is run across the country, from Heathrow to Leeds, Manchester to Edinburgh. This means you can always find a course close to you. Secondly they run courses every month, so if you are unlucky enough to fail to theory, you can usually get another space sooner rather than later. The Resource group tend to run courses somewhere in Wales and Northern Ireland, and they are not as frequent.

The EuroUSC course was also cheaper at £740 plus VAT for the theory and £350 plus VAT or the flight assessment. Resource Group was £1600 inc VAT. That said the Resoucse group is a 3 day course, as opposed to the EuroUSC which is 2 days. Some of you will prefer to cram and get it over with, other will prefer a more relaxed approach.

Finally the last factor that made me opt for the BNUC-s run through EuroUSC was scope. EuroUSC use this course and operate with offices throughout Europe, Belgium, France, Malta, Spain, Netherlands etc. The RPQs certificate is not recognised by the Civil Aviation Authorities of those countries, something to bear in mind, fi you don’t want to be stuck working just in the UK?

I would like to say, that although i have completed BNUC-S theory, on Tuesday of this very week, i will defiantly be looking to train with the guys at Recourse Group, once i’m up and running and established. Firstly to expand my skill and knowledge base. Secondly to network more, we are quiet a small community and people know people. Finally, they know what they are talking about. EuroUSC has, to an extent had a monopoly on the training of UAV Pilots since 2010. The Resource guys just seemed a little less ‘salesy’ (if thats a word), the Resource Group, guys seemed to be very knowledgeable and precise – no waffle or sales jargon at all!. I reckon most of them are military, so you know your training will be first rate.

Till next time

See you in the sky!

10 thoughts on “What Qualification should you choose – BNUC-S or RPQS?

  1. Good read and something I am myself looking into right now, being a pro tog and seeing this as a natural progression in offering my existing clients the view from above option seems a great way forward. I have bought the Inspire 1 with all the trimmings for 2 reasons, firstly its price bracket is right in the professional but lets not be to hasty bracket and secondly I need to see it earn some money before I shell out the £10k ultra kit that I keep seeing being used on TV.
    Still not sure who to go with re the Pilots license…….dilemma

    Like

    1. Hi Adrian

      If you want to chat about the bnucs (cant comment on the other two qualifications) call me on 07770126511 after 4;30 and i can offer my opinion

      Nathan

      Like

    1. Hi
      I would like to chat more, if you have read my blog, you will know i went with Euro back in December last year, but i have people contact me every day to ask what course to take, so more info on your company and course, might mean i can send them your way?
      Nathan

      Like

  2. Hey,
    I know I’m replying on an old post, but your posts about the BNUC-S have been super helpful!
    I think I am currently in the same boat as you were back writing the posts, I am really thinking about getting my BNUC-S but wondering from your experience, how advanced I should be before applying?
    I have built 2 quads myself and fly when I can, but I would in no way say I am a professional pilot. Would you recommend doing a lot of flying before doing the test? Or the practical? Or do both of these set you up enough to be a better pilot?
    I’m based in the Netherlands and they are just starting to do the full course here, which is now 3 day theory.
    Any further insight would be appreciated!

    Like

    1. Hey Coleby

      Its so much easier to chat about the BNUC etc over the phone rather than email. Do you have a number i could call. if you want to ring me, please feel free, 07711934766

      regard

      nathan

      Like

Leave a comment